Metis Settlements General Council

The Metis Settlements General Council (MSGC) deals with matters that affect the collective interests of the eight Metis Settlements.
  • It was established by the Metis Settlements Act.

  • It is comprised of the 40 elected Councillors from all Metis Settlements and a four-person executive (President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer) elected by the Councillors.

  • It makes Polices that are binding on the MSGC. Some of the Policies an be viewed on the MSGC website.  All Policies:

    • Are developed in consultation with the Minister of Indigenous Relations.
    • Have the same effect as Alberta law.
    • Are published in the Alberta Gazette the same way as are provincial regulations.